The Governing Body

What we do

Governors make the key decisions about how the school is run.  The full governing body meets six times a year; sub-committees meet as necessary.

The Governing Body
Name Post
Mr Stewart McSmythurs  Associate Member
Vacancy Clerk
Mr Graeme Laycock Co-opted Governor
Mr David Lewis Co-opted Governor
Mrs Claire Bond Co-opted Governor
Mrs Tracy Serle Head Teacher
Mrs Rachel Hall Parent Governor
Mrs Donna Whinham Parent Governor
TBC Staff Governor
Mr Nadeem Shah LEA Governor 
Ms Caroline Jankowska Co-opted Governor
Mrs Harriet Williams Co-opted Governor

Governors are appointed to help:

  • Evaluate the effectiveness of the school
  • Provide and support the strategic direction of the school
  • Decide what is taught
  • Set and support standards of behaviour
  • Interview and select staff
  • Decide on how the school budget is spent
  • Support and judge the performance of the Headteacher

School Governors have legal duties, powers and responsibilities.  They must act together, they cannot act individually.

School Governors are:

  • Parents
  • Teachers at the school
  • Local council representatives
  • Community representatives

Parent Governors are elected by the parents and serve, as do all Governors, for four years. They bring the views of parents to the Governing Body, but they speak and act as individuals; they should not be thought of as delegates of the parents. They have equal status in the work of the Governing Body, with full voting rights.  The current Chair of Governors is Parent Governor Mrs Donna Whinham – she can be contacted via the school office.

We have  3 Sub-Committees:

Finance and Resources 

HR and Pay

Curriculum and Standards.

Minutes for meetings are kept in the School Office and are available on request.

FGB dates for 2020/21 are:- 

Monday 28th September 2020

Thursday 26th November  2020

Thursday 28th January 2021

Thursday 18th March 2021

Thursday 20th May 2021

Thursday 8th July 2021

Curriculum and standards sub committee meetings:-
9th  October  2020
12th March 2021 
11th June 2021

Finance subcommittee meetings:-
12th November 2020
6th May 2021

HR and Pay subcommittee meetings:-
12th November 2020
11th June 2021